• Home
  • Team
  • Professor Hardev Pandha

Professor Hardev Pandha

Consultant Medical Oncologist

Professor Pandha is a consultant medical Oncologist at the Royal Surrey County Hospital specialising in Urological cancers including prostate and renal cancer. In addition to his work in the NHS he is also Head of Urological Oncology at the University of Surrey, managing a research group which is investigating novel biomarkers and targeted therapies for cancer. He qualified at The University of Birmingham and spent several years developing his expertise in internal medicine and medical oncology at the Royal Postgraduate Medical School at Hammersmith Hospital London where he completed his PhD in the Imperial Cancer Research Fund Cancer Unit. He was a Visiting Fellow at Stanford University, USA and finalised his specialist oncology training at The Royal Marsden in London. He was a senior lecturer in tumour immunology and medical oncology at St George’s Hospital, London before taking up the Prostate Project Chair in Urological Oncology at the Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences, University of Surrey in January 2006. He is a world expert in urological cancer, gene and viral therapy, cancer vaccines and tumour immunology.

“It is rare for a British university to take a new cancer drug from concept through to patient treatment. There has been a superb collaboration between the University and the Trust partners in Surrey hospitals which has really helped push this research forward.”

Prof Pandha combines the overall management of the research group with a key interest in immunotherapy and viral therapy for cancer. He has a specialist urological oncology practice at St Luke’s Cancer Centre, Royal Surrey County Hospital, Guildford. The group has an evolving portfolio of clinical trials of experimental cancer therapies.

Topic of Cancer is a registered charity in England and Wales, registered no. 1151079.

Nigel Lewis-Baker MBE (Honorary Life President) | Sir Paul Beresford MP | Michael Buerk | Michael Elwyn | Yvonne Hall | Martin O'Donnell | Glyn Powell-Evans | Colin Roy | Alison Steadman OBE
Anne Powell-Evans (Acting-Chair) |  | Sarah Bishop | Tony Chant | Alan Loryman (Treasurer) | Prof. Hardev Pandha | Edwin Schofield